Efficiency by tomtato

I’m not sure I really want to admit it, but there are days when I need it to keep focussed: that little tomato which tells me to stay on task.

The Pomodoro Technique is a method of time management which chunks time into periods of work, with little breaks in between. I first heard about it when one of my master students told the class he was using it to stay on task when he was writing his master’s thesis. I decided to have a little look, and downloaded My Little Pomodoro.

My Little Pomodoro is a simple and easy to use app. In many ways it’s just a pre-set stop watch, but somehow that little jumping tomato seems  a bit more friendly than my stock alarm.

Time wise, it comes pre-set with a 25 minute work session, a 5 min short break, and a 15 min long break (the intention is that every fourth break should be a long break), but these intervals can be changed in the settings.

In addition to chunking your work flow, MLP can also track how much time you use on a particular task – this feature can offer a bit of a reality check in terms of how much (or little) time you need to complete a particular item on your to do list.

Personally, I don’t use it that often, but I pull it out on days when I have trouble concentrating and when I tend to diverge to journal sites or newspaper headings when I should be reading or writing. It feels a bit like someone standing over my shoulder when I need it, even if it’s only a virtual tomato.

photo credit: spisharam via photopin cc

This entry was posted in productivity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Efficiency by tomtato

  1. Thank you for an elegant and inspiring blog. There is a free app for Macs that graciously does much of the same as My Little Pomodoro: http://www.dejal.com/timeout/ The free version does not log your acitivity.

  2. Pingback: Sale: Productive Macs bundle | Macademise

  3. Pingback: Getting rid of #distractions: the Freedom app | Macademise

Comments are closed.